Renewing My Driver’s Licence (LTO SM Cebu)

Licence Renewal in Cebu

Renewing your driver’s licence in SM City Cebu is systematic but time consuming. Best to budget a couple of hours or so.

Note for HLO:

10:00 AM – 2:00 AM = Peak hours

2:00 PM – 5:30 PM = Non-peak hours

Just Bring:

- Your old driver’s liscence

- A pen (although the LTO CSR guy sells one for P10)

- Good enough pocket money. I paid P 400 for the drug test and medical exam. And P 480 for the liscence renewal.

I started at 10:00 AM in the morning of September 20, 2012 . Went out for a 30 minute lunch (after I got the HLO form).

1st step:

Line up at the HLO cashier.

Preapre driver’s liscence and P 400 for both drug test and medical examination.

Then you will be given a form to fill out.

Important: Keep your receipt.

Fill out the form, all checkmarks.

Then submit back to the cashier’s booth.

2nd step:

Immediately line up for urine exam. With the sheet and number given to you from the cashier’s booth.

You’ll be given a plastic bottle to pee in and they’ll need you to sign on the cap when you submit it. (conveniently there are restrooms just on the end of the queue)

3rd step:

Find a close enough seat to step 3: biometrics, coz your number will be called soon after.

They’ll take a webcam photo of you and biometeric scan of your right thumb.

You will get your old licence back at this point.

Then again wait for step 4.

4th Step:

Your number will be called for the Step 4 medical exam. I believe the numbers are called by a set of 5.

Weight check. Height check. Vision check.

Then a little wait for the doctor to say ”next” and then you’d be facing the doctor.

Blood pressure check.

Basic illness and info check.

Sign on the log book then you’re off to the LTO center.

5th Step:

Go to the LTO CSR table just outside the LTO center.

Get your form and fill it out.

Together with your medical report, old licence, you will surrender them all and just wait for your name to be called.

If you want to take a photo of your old licence, now would be the best time. Haha

6th Step:

Window 1: Evaluator’s Photo shot

Window 2: AMPI PHOTO-SIGNATURE’s signature

then wait once again

7th Step:

Your name will be called for

Window 3: Cashier

pay P480 , techincally no questions asked. Haha But I guess there will be other charges if you have any pending penalties or violations.

Then sit yourself back down again.

8th Step:

Hopefully the final call

Window 4: Releasing

Meet your renewed licence

Just be sure they got all the right details in there.

End: 1:30pm, and yes by this time there were only very few people left.

Note: If you find this useful, please do let me know, so I’d try and make more things like these in the future. :)

—– My experience ——

By 1230 pm I was now waiting for my name to be called amidst 60 other people.

There were no numbers or any indication of any sequence that my licence was being process, just the ”oh he came before me.” and ”I came before him.” sequence I held in my mind.

So after getting a seat and being among the 60 or so other people, my task now was to wait and be attentive enough to hear my name… Whenever it will be called.

The first name was called, and a guy stood up to proceed to window 1 marked Evaluator. He was the guy who was an hour ahead of me in the HLO clinic. Damn. I thought to myself, I’ll be hear for a while.

Another helpful indication of possibly when my name will be called is when my seatmates will slowly be gone and replaced with new people. They were there when I sat down, they should be going ahead of me. Then again that’s no guartantee. Best to slowly make yourself to the front row for a good listening distance.

Apparently there isn’t really a sequence here. I was called before the girl who managed to overtake me during the HLO to LTO shift. Haha!

It’s best tot be alert too. I felt like a idiot for a few seconds because my name was called. And I just approached the lady behind window 2 ”ampi photo signature”. She repeated my name and I raised my hand and replied ”yes?” to which she raised an eyebrow and said ”sit down”.. Prompting me to sit at the window 1’s chair and look at the small webcam facing me. A shot was apparently taken and window 2 lady shouted something out. In the same monotonous tone she used to call out names. I looked at the signature capture device in front of her and was about to ask ”how about my signature?” when she repeated what she just had said. Apparently she meant ”and your signature.” after I wrote my signature in the signature capture device, she immediately called out another name. I waited for her to say it again to be sure it wasn’t another instruction for me.

Your mobile phone would be a good buddy here if you come alone. Honestly having somebody with you might be more hassle for the both of you especially when there are a lot of people… unless of course your buddy is getting his/her licence renewed too.

 

=====

Edit: They are not open on Saturdays.

Thanks to Carlos Miguel del Mar for clearing this up.

    • Mardonio L. Beneting
    • November 9th, 2012

    very informative….and a lot of help….

  1. Thanks KL! this is a very useful information! By the way, are they open on Saturdays and what time will they open?

    • Anonymous
    • June 26th, 2013

    @James, It says on the sign in the picture what their Saturday hours are.

    • KL
    • June 26th, 2013

    Hi Guys,

    HLO and LTO are different agencies.
    I think HLO is open on saturdays but for LTO, I don’t think so.

    • Gabriel
    • September 29th, 2013

    Thanks for the info.. it help a lot..

  2. Superb, this article has everything in detail.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

